LibGuides: DP Economics: Research Links

Academic Databases

Passwords

Passwords

Academic Search Engines

Rather than use a general search-engine like Google, academic search engines focus on scholarly, peer-reviewed content. They automatically "weed-out" a lot of the Google Garbage.

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You won't be able to access everything. Look for articles that have PDF attached, or are linked to JSTOR.
Digital Commons Network
brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
Directory of Open Access Books
50,029 academic peer-reviewed books from 694 publishers/

Open Access Economics Journals

Economics: Ejournal Archive
E-Journal covering all papers, articles and comments published from the e-journals start till August 2020.
IDEAS
the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics
Economies
Economies is an international, scholarly, peer-reviewed, open access journal of development economics and macroeconomics
Economics
aims to cover all the main areas of economics

Resources

ECON search engine: Searches most of the sites on this page at one go.

If the box doesn't work, use this link.

Economics in Plain English
Series of videos from Jason Welker, IB and AP Econ teacher
Economics Online
Good site for background info, definitions and explanations of ecnomic theories
Khan Academy: Economics
MIT: Economics
Scroll down for long selection of Economics courses online (free!)
Policonomics
"Economics made simple" Tutorials on most aspects of Macro econ, Micro econ and history of economic theory
#econ3
Hashtag used by IB teachers to post ideas/resources.
EconPlus Dal
Videos covering key concepts of economics as well as skills such as exam technique specifically for IB Economics exams are divided into playlists, making it easy to quickly find what you’re after

Asian Development Bank
Data and statistical analysis in the Asia and Pacific region
Bank of Korea: Economic Statistics System
Gapminder
Global Insights
global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs.
Index Mundi
IndexMundi contains detailed country statistics, charts, and maps compiled from multiple sources. You can explore and analyze thousands of indicators organized by region, country, topic, industry sector, and type.
International Monetary Fund
MIT: Observatory of Economic Complexity
Visualize, understand, and interact with the latest international trade data.
NationMaster
Market sizing and trends by sector and country
Our World in Data
Research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems
S Korea Economic Indicators
World Bank: Economy and Growth
World Bank: Korea
World Bank: Population Statistics
World Resources Institute: Maps and Data
WRI produces maps, charts, data sets, infographics, and other visual resources
Wolfram Alpha
Search for economic data, create graphs and charts and more.

IA Resources

How to Structure the Econ IA

Crash Course: Economics

Full Course Here