What information are you looking for? Consider keywords, questions, alternative phrases etc.
Create "thick" research questions to develop higher-order thinking skills. Click on the images below to access the resources.
Includes Brainpop JR and Brainpop ELL. Provides games, activities and articles across the curriculum.
Online Encyclopedia
The Destiny Library Catalog will give you access to all the books in the Library as well as links to the subscription databases.
Good for background research
From environmental lessons, health, class revision and global matters, interesting topics, explained in a fun illustrative way.
International newspaper for students from G3-G8.
Authentic content from the world's most trusted providers turned into learning materials that are classroom-ready.
K-3 database covering animals, health, science, biographies and social studies. Also provides access to PebbleGo Next for G3-6
Science Online includes specially selected content that composes a virtual study guide for the most researched scientific disciplines, including biology, chemistry, computer science, Earth science, environmental science, marine science, space and astronomy, and physics.
The school's collection of ebooks, audiobooks and a wide selection of magazines.
Includes articles on a variety of topics, daily features, games, puzzles, science experiments and more
Books to support the PYPX and taking action. Some are eBooks which can be borrowed by more than one student at a time.
Books, comics and other resources to support the UN Sustainable Development Goals and the SDG Book Club
Use operators like AND, OR and NOT to narrow down your search results and get more specific information.
Look at the video to remind you how to do this.
Make sure your sources are reliable.
Watch these videos from Brainpop to remind you about searching on the internet
Watch out for Fake News! Follow these tips
Make sure you use copyright and royalty-free images in your work. Try these sites for good quality images or use Image Quest from Britannica Online.
 |
 |
|
Search now to download properly attributed images for school. |
Search for free content in the public domain and under Creative Commons licenses. |
 |
 |
|
Find and download free stock photos - all free for personal and commercial use |
Pics4Learning is a curated image library that is safe and free for education. |
Gather your research together and get ready to present!
Remember, research is a process and you may need to go back and repeat a few steps until you have everything you need.
Figure 1. The Research Process (Costello)
Bibliography:
Costello, Cathy. “The Research Process,” Virtual Library, 8 Oct. 2019, www.virtuallibrary.info/research-process.html. Accessed 28 Feb. 2020.
