LibGuides: Israel and Gaza: Providing Context: Navigating Media During Conflict

News Outlets

It's always a good idea to consume news from a variety of sources to get a well-rounded understanding of different perspectives on current events. The news outlets below offer a diverse perspective on the conflict.

-----------------------------

International Newspapers Guide: Middle East Newspapers
James A. Cannavino Library Guide to International Newspapers
New York Times - Israel-Hamas War
Widely respected newspaper known for its comprehensive coverage of national and international news, politics, culture, and more. It has a reputation for thorough investigative journalism and high editorial standards. Some critics argue there is a liberal bias.
BBC News - Israel Gaza War
Widely recognized British news organization operating globally. It's publicly funded, which theoretically insulates it from direct commercial and political pressures. It aims to provide impartial news coverage, adhering to certain editorial guidelines and standards of journalistic integrity.
Al Jazeera Middle East
Qatar-based news outlet known for its global coverage, particularly focusing on issues in the Middle East and North Africa. Recognized for its in-depth reporting, often covering stories that other mainstream media outlets might overlook. However, it has been accused of bias, rom critics who believe it reflects the perspectives of its Qatari owners or certain regional interests.
The Times of Israel
Online Jerusalem-based newspaper, covers news and events related to Israel, the Middle East, and the Jewish world. It offers a mix of original reporting, analysis, and opinion pieces on politics, culture, technology, religion, and more. It offers diverse perspectives.
The Jerusalem Post
English-language daily newspaper based in Jerusalem, Israel. It covers news primarily related to Israel, the Middle East, and Jewish affairs worldwide.
It is generally considered to have a center-right editorial stance, but it does strive for balanced reporting.
Haaretz
Israeli newspaper that is known for its liberal and left-leaning editorial stance. It's often characterized as being critical of the Israeli government and policies, particularly regarding the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and issues related to human rights.
Washington Post : Israel-Gaza War
One of the leading newspapers in the USA known for its extensive coverage of national and international news, politics, and culture. Like many news outlets, it has been subject to accusations of bias, particularly in its editorial and opinion sections.

Articles

Bhowmik, Sima, and Jolene Fisher. “Framing the Israel-Palestine Conflict 2021: Investigation of CNN’s Coverage from a Peace Journalism Perspective.” Media, Culture & Society, vol. 45, no. 5, 2023, pp. 1019–35, https://doi.org/10.1177/01634437231154766. This study uses textual analysis to examine CNN’s World News coverage of the 12-day conflict between Israel and Palestine in May 2021. We bring into conversation the influential factors that shape U.S. media coverage of other countries, as presented by Dorman and Farhang, and Galtung’s concept of war journalism in our analysis. Our findings show that CNN primarily took a war journalism approach to frame the conflict. However, calls for consideration of Palestinian human-rights from members of U.S. Congress led to coverage that aligned with a peace journalism framework.

Library Books

Side by Side by Sami Adwan (Editor); Dan Bar-On (Editor); Eyal Naveh (Editor); Peace Research Institute in the Middle East (Editor)
Call Number: 956.9405 ADW
ISBN: 9781595586834
Publication Date: 2012-03-06
Compares and contrasts the written histories of Israel and Palestine from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through 2000, showing the perspective of each side of the same events.
1948 by Benny Morris
Call Number: 956.04 MOR
ISBN: 0300126964
Publication Date: 2008-04-21
This history of the foundational war in the Arab-Israeli conflict is groundbreaking, objective, and deeply revisionist. A riveting account of the military engagements, it also focuses on the war's political dimensions.
The Creation of the State of Israel by Myra Immell (Editor)
Call Number: 956.95 CRE
ISBN: 0737745568
Publication Date: 2009-10-31
Tensions in the Middle East are due to a number of reasons, with the creation of Israel being among them. Gives readers a much-needed survey of several lively debates relating to the creation of the state of Israel. Essay sources include The Times of London, The Jerusalem Post, and The Higher Arab Committee.