LibGuides: Extended Essay: Group 4

Science Databases

Academic Search Engines

Rather than use a general search-engine like Google, academic search engines focus on scholarly, peer-reviewed content. They automatically "weed-out" a lot of the Google Garbage.

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You won't be able to access everything. Look for articles that have PDF attached, or are linked to JSTOR.
Digital Commons Network
brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
Directory of Open Access Books
50,029 academic peer-reviewed books from 694 publishers/

Science Search Engines

Hindawi
Open Access publishing for the scientific community
Science in the Classroom
Open access articles with key elements highlighted to easily access relevant information
Science Research
publicly available deep web search engine
PLOSOne
We evaluate research on scientific validity, strong methodology, and high ethical standards—not perceived significance.
ArXiv
n open-access archive for 2,009,364 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Academic Databases

Research in the Sciences

General Resources

General resources good for background material

Molecular Workbench
Hundreds of Simulations. Explore physics, chemistry, biology, biotechnology, and nanotechnology.
MIT Open Course
hundreds of free online course. Good for background
Academic Earth
curated lists of online courses are hand selected by our staff to show you the very best offerings by subject area.
Khan Academy: Science
PHET
Interactive simulations for science and math
Science.gov

Writing About Science

Organizing the Science EE

General Info: Writing in the Sciences

BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

Essentials of Good Scientific Writing by Jasmin Holm
Call Number: 808.56 HOL
Publication Date: 2012
Essentials of Good Scientific Writing is a guide for scientists, students, English as a second language (ESL) writers, and educators, teaching essential skills needed to write well and effectively.